hosted by

Didier Menard

Dr Didier MENARD

Malaria Genetics and Resistance Unit
Department of Parasites and Insect Vectors
Institut Pasteur
25-28 Rue du Dr Roux
75724 Paris Cedex 15

Tel: +33 1 45 68 91 35
Cell-phone: +33 665 38 54 49
Over the last two decades, Didier Ménard’s research program has been focused on antimalarial drug resistance (including P. falciparum and P. vivax parasites) along his different positions in the Institut Pasteur International Network, in Africa (Central African Republic, 2000-2004 and Madagascar, 2005-2008) or in Southeast Asia (Cambodia 2010-2017). He conducted complementary studies in Madagascar and in Cambodia, based on molecular diagnostic strategies and field-based investigations, with the aims to improve our understanding on the epidemiological features of malaria endemicity and help policy makers to conduct elimination plans. Particularly, he led studies focused on epidemiologically associations between human host and susceptibility to P. vivax malaria and demonstrated that P. vivax in Madagascar is causing blood stage infection and clinical disease in Duffy-negative individuals. In Cambodia, more recently, his research on P. falciparum drug resistance was focused on the development of new in vitro assays to better characterize P. falciparum isolates resistant to artemisinin or piperaquine. His major achievements have been to demonstrate that mutations in the propeller domain of a Kelch gene located on chromosome 13 (K13) and amplification of plasmepsin 2-3 genes are major determinants of artemisinin and piperaquine resistances, respectively. In collaboration with 41 partners located around the world (KARMA project), he recently provided a worldwide mapping of the K13 polymorphisms.

Since September 2017, Didier Menard is based at the Institut Pasteur, Paris. In 2020, he was appointed as the head of the Malaria Genetics and Resistance Unit, Parasites and Insect Vectors Department. He published >180 peer-review articles in international journals ( In 2015, he won the Eloi Collery prize from the National Academy of Medicine (France), in 2016 the Jean Pierre Lecocq prize from the Sciences Academy (France) and in 2020 the Thérèse Lebrasseur prize from the Fondation de France.
Powered by